The world's seven largest economies, the Group of Seven or "G7", are the United States of America, the Federal Republic of Germany, Japan, France, the United Kingdom, Italy and Canada.

G7 Summit

The use of G7 to describe the conference is out-dated because at least nine world governments will be participating. The Russian Federation and the European Union will be joining the G7 countries at the Halifax Summit.

Halifax Summit

The official name of the conference is, the Halifax Summit. The media, the man-on-the-street commonly refer to the meeting as the G7 Summit.