Metro Pool League 2000 Awards

Emcee Arthur Durant

At this time it is my pleasure to introduce to you the executive of the Metro Pool League for the current year; and ask them to come up to the stage. Public Relations Gary Nichols Statistician Dave MacCallum Treasurer Danny Fortune Secretary Dale Brimicombe Vice Pres Brad Smith President Bill Shott And now to the awards Playoff Runner-Up Corner Pocket captained by Len MacDonnell League Winners The league championship was a hotly contested win and there was only seven points in a total of 2000, separating the top two teams with the Burnside Snooker Club captained by Don Matheson & Mike Covin coming out on top. League averages from 550 to 699 are already on the tables. I will read out the names of all those players who was elligable to receive a trophy the players from 700 and above will be asked to come up to receive their trophy at the podium.
  • Avg Final 99/00 This year a new award has been created to recognize the team club which has the most enjoyable atmosphere to play at. I suppose you could say that it is the club's Congeniality Award. The first winner for the year 2000 is Angies Bars & Grill. Would the captain for Angies team come up to accept this award. Runner-up Partners Tournament Mike Goodwin Crickets John McCoombs Burnside Winners of the MPL Tournaments Partners Tournament Stan Tunis and Don Matheson Both from Burnside MPL Team Runner-up One Point Tournament Frederick Baker Burnside One Point Tournament Champion Yves Roy Burnside Runner-up Two Point Tournament Joe Marsman Spry Q Two Point Tournament Champion Pat Briand Corner Pocket Most 4 Game Nights (no losses) Four Game Wins From Shannon 8 Ball with 14 nights with no losses Bob Massia Senior Award The Senior award is given to that player or players who best displays dedication, expertise, sportsmanship and fair play and the receipients this year have exhibited all these qualities and more for many years. From the Sandtrap Bar Don Gates From the Fairview Legion Eric Barnes Hall of Fame Award Our next recipient of an award is a player who has been and active member of the league for about 14 years. This player has been a captain for the Centennial Legion and also the Sandtrap Bar and Grill. He is an asset to his team and the league and in time he has shown a dedication to the league, volunteering his time for enjoyment of all members, by helping organize tournaments and setting up for the banquet he has an ability to play with the best and an enjoyment of the game which enhances the playing and enjoyment of himself and his opponents. Would you please help me welcome the latest member to the Metro Pool Leagues Hall of Fame, from the Sandtrap Bar & Grill MPL Team captain Don Gates. Consecutive Wins From the North End Pub with 21 wins Dan Simms Most Wins From the Shannon 8 Ball team with 98 wins Bob Massia Most Improved Player With an Avg of 659 from 463 last year, an increase of 196 points, this player played as the top two point player of the Resolute Club this year. Welcome the Most Improved Player for the Metro Pool League from Resolute Club Bill Drummond. Most Improved Team Spryfield Q moved from the C Div to the A Div and increased their total points by 505. High Average This is the first year that recognition is being given to the one point and two point players separately; High average for the One point players from Burnside won 90 of 116 games with a 776 avg Paul Gillespie High average for the Two point players from Shannon 8 Ball won 98 of 120 games with a 817 Avg Bob Massia Rookie of the Year The rookie for the year 2000 has come to us from the Moncton area and plays for the Oases Tavern. He has played 120 games as a two point player winning 91 games with an average of 758. From the Oases team a big round of applause for Steve Gibson. Walter Johnson Award Player's Congeniality Award for sportsmanship and dedication to the team is won by a player from the Bullseye Pub team Andy Thurber. Most Valuable Player This player I have known for the last 20 years and have had the good fortune to have played with him on different occasions. He has played with the Fleet Cdlub, Mic-Mac AAC, Burnside, and Shannon 8 Ball. He has proven to be a dedicated league member a true team player and a fierce competitor in any sport he plays. A very deserving player from the Shannon 8 Ball Club lets have a deserving round of applause for Bob Massia. Div Playoff Champions "D" Div Champions Homestretch Bar which came back from a 24 point deficit in the first night, to tie the score in the second night and win in the first extra round. "C" Div Chamipions A team who are always a tough battle Centennial Legion "B" Division Playoff Champions This is the first time this team has won a division and in doing so overcame adversity by winning the longest match in MPL history. Almon Billiards played Oases Bar for three extra rounds before the Almon Billiards team captained by Dale Arsenault and Wayne Lampman finally won the B Div Championship. "A" Division Playoff Champions Showing the strength and competitive nature of the MPL the Club Q who finished fourth in the A Div played and beat the No 1 team Burnside and in the finals outplayed the No 2 team and last years playoff winners Corner Pocket. The Millenium 2000 playoff winners of the A Div captained by Dale Brimicombe Club Q.

    Return to Metro Pool League