Metro Pool League 2002 Awards

30th Anniversary

Emcee Arthur Durant

Good evening and welcome to the 2002 edition of the Metro Pool League awards banquet. We would like to thank the kitchen staff for a wonderful meal and recognize Alexander Keith's as our main sponser. At this time it is my pleasure to introduce to you the executive of the Metro Pool League for the current year; and ask them to come up to the stage. Public Relations Norm Porter Statistician Dave MacCallum Treasurer Danny Fortune Secretary Dale Brimicombe Vice Pres Brad Smith President Bill Shott And now to the awards League Runners Up Club Q captained by Dale Brimicombe League Winners The league championship was a hotly contested win as it is every year with the Burnside Snooker Club captained by Don Matheson coming out on top. Let's give a big round of applause for Don Matheson and the members of the MPL League Champions Burnside. League averages from 550 to 699 are already on the tables which does not take away from their importance but are too numerous to give out individually. The players from 700 and above will be asked to come up to receive their trophy at the podium. (List attached) Winners of the MPL Tournaments Each year the MPL sponsers tournaments throughout the year for league members the following are the winners and runner up winners Runner-up Partners Tournament Mike Deal Club Q & Mark Klaamas Angies Bar Partners Tournament Champions Rob Chute Mic Mac AAC & Jim Brennan Top Corner One Point Tournament Runner-up One Point Tournament Dennis Coolen Rodeo One Point Tournament Champion Bill Walsh Club Q Runner-up Two Point Tournament Bill Meuse Hfx Q Two Point Tournament Champion Pat Briand Rodeo Most 4 Game Nights (no losses) Every player likes to be able to win all four games on a league night if for no other reason than bragging rights. The following players have succeeded in winning four games more times that any other player although there are some ties. Four Game Wins 1Pt Players with 11 nights Dennis Coolen Rodeo Malcolm Greeley Club Q Dave Richard Club Q 2Pt Players with 12 nights Ken Shea Burnside John McCoombs Burnside Dale Young Rodeo Mike Weagle Supercue Senior Award The Senior award is given to that player or players who have continued to enjoy the game and competition in their later year and who best displays dedication, expertise, sportsmanship and fair play and the receipients this year have exhibited all these qualities and more for many years. This year the league honors two of our senior players from Dave Doolittle's Bill Taylor Centennial Legion Curly Miller Hall of Fame Award Our next recipient of an award is a player who has been an active member of the league for the last 11 years. He is an asset to his team and the league and in time, he has shown a dedication to the league, volunteering his time on the executive and ensuring enjoyment for all members. He has an ability to play with the best and an enjoyment of the game which enhances the playing and enjoyment of himself and his opponents. Would you please help me welcome the latest member to the Metro Pool Leagues Hall of Fame,from the Club Q team member and captain Dale Brimicombe. Most Consecutive Wins 1 Pt Player with 26 wins Mike Covin Burnside 2 pt Player with 21 wins Mike Weagle Supercue Most Wins 1 pt Player with 90 wins Mike Covin Burnside 2 pt Player with 98 wins Dale Young Rodeo John McCoombs Burnside Most Improved Player This player improved his average from .534 to .690 an increase of 156 playing as a 2 pt player. Playing on an "A" team he placed third in averages on his team. A player very deserving of this honor lets welcome the Most Improved Player from Halifax Q Glenn Shea. Most Improved Team An increase 0f 230 points from the previous year lets welcome the Most Improved Team captained by Rob Barrios Busters Bar & Grill High Average Introduced in the year 2000 recognition is being given for high averages to the one point and two point players inddividually; 1 pt Player Mike Covin Burnside 776 2 pt Pllayer Ken Shea Burnside 800 Rookie of the Year The rookie for the year 2002 With an average of 750 this player played 24 wks all at 2 points lets welcome the rookie for the 2002 year from the Rodeo Brad Doyle. Walter Johnson Award Player's Congeniality Award for sportsmanship and dedication to the team is awarded this year to a player from the Spryfield Q Bill Mercer. Most Valuable Player This player has been an asset to the league and has organized and captained his team for many many years. He has always representated his team at the league meeting contributing many ideas and working toward the betterment of the league as a whole. Lets give a warm welcome to this years Most Valuable Player from the Rodeo Bar & Grill Dale Young. And now for Div Playoff Champions D Div Angies Br & Grill Captained by Tom Day C Div Centennial Legion Captained by Don Rogers B Div Almon Billiards Captained by Dale Arsenault A Div Burnside Captain Don Matheson

Return to Metro Pool League