Metro Pool League 2003 Awards

31st Anniversary

Emcee Arthur Durant

Good evening and welcome to the 2003 edition of the Metro Pool League awards banquet. We would like to thank the kitchen staff for a wonderful meal and recognize Alexander Keith's as our main sponser.
At this time it is my pleasure to introduce to you the executive of the Metro Pool League for the current year; and ask them to come up to the stage.
Public Relations Norm Porter
Statistician Dave MacCallum
Treasurer Danny Fortune
Secretary Dale Brimicombe
Vice Pres Brad Smith
President Bill Shott
And now to the awards
League Winners
The league championship was a hotly contested win as it is every year with the Burnside Snooker Club captained by Don Matheson coming out on top. Let's give a big round of applause for Don Matheson and the members of the
MPL League Champions Burnside.
League averages from 550 to 699 are already on the tables which does not take away from their importance but are too numerous to give out individually. The players from 700 and above will be asked to come up to receive their trophy at the podium. (List attached) Winners of the MPL Tournaments Each year the MPL sponsers tournaments throughout the year for league members the following are the winners and runner up winners Runner-up Partners Tournament Derek MacCallum(Supercue)- Pat Robson (Burnside) Partners Tournament Champions Frederick Baker (Brewsters) - Dave Boone (Club Q) One Point Tournament Runner-up One Point Tournament Dale Moulton (Almon Billiards) One Point Tournament Champion Henry Harrison (Sandtrap) Runner-up Two Point Tournament Gordie Lynch (Almon Billiards) Two Point Tournament Champion Pat Briand (Club Q) Most 4 Game Nights (no losses) Every player likes to be able to win all four games on a league night if for no other reason than bragging rights. The following players have succeeded in winning four games more times that any other player although there are some ties. Four Game Wins 1Pt Players with 13 nights Mike Covin (Burnside) Dan Deal (Club Q) 2Pt Players with 14 nights Ken Shea Burnside Senior Award The Senior award is given to that player or players who have continued to enjoy the game and competition in their later year and who best displays dedication, expertise, sportsmanship and fair play and the receipient this year has exhibited all these qualities and more for many years. This year the league honors an outstanding senior player from Spryfield Norm Porter (Spryfield Q) Hall of Fame Award Our next recipient of an award is a player who has been an active member of the league for the last 25 years. He is an asset to his team and the league and in time, he has shown a dedication to the league. He has an ability to play with the best and an enjoyment of the game which enhances the playing and enjoyment for himself and his opponents. Would you please help me welcome the latest member to the Metro Pool Leagues Hall of Fame,from the Fairview Legion Eric Barnes. Most Consecutive Wins 1 Pt Player with 25 wins Chad Oxner (Almon Billiards) 2 pt Player with 24 wins Billy Meuse (Club Q) Most Wins 1 pt Player with 100 wins Mike Covin Burnside 2 pt Player with 95 wins Pat Robson (Burnside) Most Improved Player This player improved his average as a 2pt player from Mic Mac AAC with an increase of 211 pts. A player very deserving of this honor lets welcome the Most Improved Player from Mic Mac AAC Pat Walton. Most Improved Team An increase 0f 214 points from the previous year lets welcome the Most Improved Team captained by Danny Fortune Mic Mac AAC. High Average Introduced in the year 2000 recognition is being given for high averages to the one point and two point players inddividually; 1 pt Player Mike Covin Burnside 883 2 pt Players Ken Shea Burnside 837 Billy Meuse (Club Q) Rookie of the Year The rookie for the year 2003 With an average of 694 this player played 104 wks most at 2 points lets welcome the rookie for the 2003 year from the Almon Billiards Christian Coffey. Walter Johnson Award Player's Congeniality Award for sportsmanship and dedication to the team is awarded this year to a player who is the team captain and the longest serving player from the Dooley's on Kempt Rd Doug Peters. Most Valuable Player These players have been an asset to the league and have contributed their time and effort for the betterment of the enjoyment for all players for many years. They have always representated Their teams at at a high level of competitive spirit contributing to the betterment of the league as a whole. Lets give a warm welcome to this years Most Valuable Players from the Burnside Snooker Club Ken Shea and from Club Q Billy Meuse. And now for Div Playoff Champions D Div Little Nashville Captained by Mike Cavanaugh C Div Dooley's Kempt Rd Captained by Doug Peters B Div Almon Billiards Captained by Dale Arsenault A Div Club Q captained by Dale Brimicombe

Return to Metro Pool League