The Scope of Midwifery Practice is Based on Seven Principles

taken from the Recommendations for the Regulation and Implementation of Midwifery in Nova Scotia
prepared by the Interdisciplinary Working Group on Midwifery Regulation, May 1999.

Principle 1: Autonomy
Standard 1.0: The midwife is an autonomous primary health care professional within the maternity care system.
Principle 2: Informed Choice
Standard 2.0: The midwife upholds each woman’s right to free and informed choice, and facilitates the woman’s understanding of the care and treatment to which she consents.
Principle 3: Continuity of Care
Standard 3.0: The midwife has an obligation to ensure continuity of care throughout pregnancy, labour, birth and the post-partum period.
Principle 4: Choice of Birth Settings
Standard 4.0: A midwife must be capable of, and willing to, provide care in all settings.
Principle 5: Two Attendants at Each Birth
Standard 5.0: Two midwives will attend each birth regardless of setting except in those circumstances as permitted by the College of Midwives under the Alternative Practice Arrangements within the Model of Midwifery practice.
Principle 6: Accountability
Standard 6.0: Midwives are accountable to their clients, the College and the profession for safe, competent and ethical practice. The College is accountable for establishing regulations for responsibilities, reporting and evaluation.
Principle 7: Collaborative Practice
Standard 7.0: The midwife collaborates with the client, other midwives, health care providers and the wider community.

Each of these principles is supported by Standards and Criteria which specify the professional behaviour and services a woman can expect when choosing a midwife as her caregiver and the practices expected of the midwife in attempting to achieve these standards.

These recommendations provide a sound basis for proceeding with the implementation of midwifery in Nova Scotia.

Download the Seven Principles (.pdf 32 kb)